Javascript is not enabled! Please turn on Javascript to use this site.
Help us rent a room

Help us rent a room

Personal message

My name is James Butterworth. I am 34 years old, and I am from Midrand. 

Due to having no money, my partner had to live with friends and basically couch-surf for the past year, while I was lucky enough to stay with my mother and step-father. He ended up in a really rough neighbourhood (drugs, gangs, the kind of place the police are afraid to go to). 

When the violence came directly to him, I begged my family to let me rescue him (on the 6th October) and we were given a month to find somewhere else to go. Both of us have been struggling to find work and somewhere to go for the whole month, and we have an opportunity for both, but we really urgently need money for the deposit and first month's rent, and to move our meagre belongings. 

After that point, we should have our salaries and should be fine (at last). The problem is that we've almost run out of time and need to somehow gather so much money within a week!

The deposit and rent are R2750 each and the removal we can expect to be around R500. Any help at all would be greatly appreciated!

If we can achieve this relatively small goal, we will be able to avoid ending up living on the street. Hopefully, we will be able to live productively and finally become stable.

Statistics

Donations to date

R 0.00

Fundraising target

R 6 000.00
Donate

James Butterworth Rent Cause

James Butterworth Rent Cause Logo

James Butterworth (34) is raising funds for himself and his partner. Due to a lack of funds, James' partner spent the past year couch-surfing at friends' houses. He ended up staying in a rough neighbourhood, and James would like to raise funds for a deposit and rent so that they can have a place to stay.