Javascript is not enabled! Please turn on Javascript to use this site.
Alexandra Education Committee Logo

Alexandra Education Committee

The Alexandra Education Committee, founded in 1996, is a proven and well-managed bursary scheme staffed by experienced educators and school administrators. 

During their grade 6 year, potential AEC bursars are carefully selected from 19 primary schools in and close to Alexandra in Johannesburg. They attend Saturday School in English and Mathematics whilst in their grade 7 year. Those top-performing grade 7s are awarded five-year bursaries to stable and well-functioning high schools. 

In addition to bursaries, children are supplied with uniforms, text books, stationery, transport and food. Additional needs like eye-glasses and field trips are also considered.

Children are given extensive support throughout their high school careers. They attend Saturday School, holiday schools, and are able to access extra lessons in subjects they have difficulty with. Children are supported by mentors and a social worker.

Furthermore, Alexandra primary school teachers from 19 schools, are offered teacher development workshops in maths and English. 

The AEC is a registered PBO (930-000-698) and NPO (025-968). The Constitution was upgraded in 2012 and is upheld by a professional Council and dedicated sub-committees. 


Donations to date

R 42 711.19

Fundraising target

R 82 000.00

Donor Messages

For Rowan and Stephany
Ann and Matthew
Congrats Steph and Rowan! So happy to be with you to celebrate this event. Much love and happiness, Ann and Matthew
Delighted to be contributing to this wonderful cause
The Brassellhofskis
What an awesome wedding present idea! Congrats guys, wishing you much love and happiness!
Sean & Lindsey
We are thrilled to be sharing this very happy & special time with you both & at the same time to be able to contribute to such a meaningful cause. Love Team Harpur x.
Doug & Genevieve
Congratulations! Have many happy, adventurous year together! Really nice to be part of the initiative to gift education to students
Byron & Sue
Wishing you both much love and happiness !
Patrick & Matthew
Congratulations Aunty Steph & Uncle Rowan!
Shaun & Alex
Education is the gift that keeps on giving! And so too is marriage :p So this is a lovely way to combine them both. Congratulations!

Activity feed

Simon donated USD $ 107 via Giving Tuesday at the AEC
05 May 2020 USD $ 107
Brian Bayne donated R 850 via Giving Tuesday at the AEC
20 Apr 2020 R 850
Philsiwe Setshogwe donated R 1 000
15 Apr 2020 R 1 000
donated R 0
18 Jan 2016 R 0